Is There a Deadline to File a Personal Injury Case?

     When you are injured in a car accident, it’s important to know your state’s statute of limitations. A statute of limitations is the limited time within which someone can file a lawsuit. Minding the statute of limitations is essential to ensure both parties involved are given a fair chance to prepare their cases. This time limit assures that evidence is relevant and witness testimonies are as accurate as possible. 

     Individuals can file personal injury claims to receive compensation for their injuries or damages due to someone else’s negligence. This covers lost wages, medical expenses, and pain and suffering, among other types of damages. In Florida, the statute of limitation depends on the case. As of March 24th, 2023, the statute of limitations for most types of personal injury cases changed from 4 years to 2 years. That said, there are many nuances and complexities related to a statute of limitations. A Florida personal injury attorney can help evaluate your claim and determine your precise statute of limitations. 

     Florida’s statute of limitations is a strict deadline, so it’s best to act sooner rather than later. At Sunshine State Law Firm, we guide our clients to ensure they have a valid case, and they are able to receive the fair compensation they deserve. 

Popular Blogs