What to Know about Uber/Lyft Accidents in Florida
If you were injured in a car accident involving a rideshare vehicle, you should be compensated for your injuries no matter who is at-fault.
If you are a passenger, you may be eligible for Uber or Lyft’s liability coverage. However, it is possible for Uber or Lyft to resist paying for the claim. This is why it’s important to contact a car accident lawyer so you can receive the compensation you deserve.
If you are a driver, Uber and Lyft both have a liability coverage system that is split into periods. The period your accident falls into depends on the conditions surrounding your accident. The liability coverage includes the following:
- Period 0: If an Uber/Lyft driver is in an accident but not logged into their rideshare app, Uber/Lyft won’t provide liability coverage.
- Period 1: If an Uber/Lyft driver is in an accident and is logged into the app but not yet accepted a ride, Uber/Lyft will provide liability coverage up to $25,000 property damage liability, $50,000 per person injured in the car accident, and $100,000 total injury liability per car accident.
- Period 2: If an Uber/Lyft driver accepts a ride and has a car accident on their way to pick up their passenger, liability coverage can increase up to $1 million.
- Period 3: If an Uber/Lyft driver gets into a car accident with passengers in their vehicle, Uber/Lyft may provide up to $1 million in liability coverage to the passengers, if the Uber/Lyft driver is at fault.
Follow these steps to avoid making mistakes after being in a rideshare accident:
STEPS TO TAKE AFTER BEING IN A RIDESHARE ACCIDENT
- File a police report to create evidence that will support your claim.
- Take pictures of the scene and gather information about the other driver and any witnesses.
- Seek medical attention immediately after your accident.
- Report the accident to Uber or Lyft under the “Trip Issues” section on their app. Doing this will allow you to collect from their insurance policy. Be careful speaking with any rideshare representative.
- Contact a Florida car accident attorney to help you speak with the representative. In Florida, you have 2 years from the date of your accident to file a claim.
If you were recently involved in an Uber/Lyft accident, contact Sunshine State Law Firm for a FREE consultation.
A minor car accident may not seem like a big deal, but it can potentially cause physical, emotional, or financial consequences. A car accident lawyer can help you navigate the process of filing a minor car accident claim with your insurance company. Even if...
Florida enforces comparative negligence laws, which determines the amount of compensation someone can claim in a personal injury case. Florida’s new negligence law, House Bill (HB) 837, makes changes to the state’s tort laws. Before this law, Florida was a...
The holiday season is upon us! This means tourist numbers are up and roads are busier. During this time, the risk of car accidents increases due to congestion, speeding, and drunk driving. To reduce stress and ensure safety this holiday season, follow these tips: ...