Florida is a No-Fault State. What Does That Mean?

     Florida has a “No-Fault Motor Vehicle Law” that requires drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance with a minimum coverage of $10,000. This is one of many coverages on your auto policy that can pay for your medical treatment costs and damages related to the accident, regardless of who’s at fault. PIP only benefits the insured up to the limit of the insurance. As long as you are in Florida, the coverage will be in effect whether you drive an owned, rented, or borrowed vehicle. Common losses not covered by PIP include damage to your car or the other driver’s car, injuries of the other car’s passengers, injuries of adult passengers in your own car if they have their own PIP coverage, and pain and suffering claims. 

     PIP insurance should pay 80% of any necessary medical costs from your car accident. To receive this coverage, you must seek medical care within 14 days of your car accident. It further provides 60% of loss wages if you can’t work due to your injuries. If your loved one has died in a car accident, PIP will provide you with $5,000 in death benefits. 

     The no-fault law provides car accident victims with a more efficient and quick way to get compensation for a few types of losses. However, there is criticism revolving abuse and fraud. After your car accident, you can receive some no-fault benefits. To recover all your damages and not be left with unpaid bills, you will need to seek other insurance claims against the at-fault driver. You must prove negligence on behalf of the other party in order to have a successful case.  

     Remember to begin the insurance claims process as soon as possible after having been in a car accident. Florida’s statute of limitations states that you have 2 years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit. When you file a PIP claim, your insurance company has 30 days to accept or deny your claim. 

     If you’ve recently been involved in a car accident or have questions regarding Florida’s No-Fault Law, contact Sunshine State Law Firm for a FREE consultation. An experienced attorney can help you learn more about your rights and help you properly file a car accident claim and be fairly compensated.  

Popular Blogs